Excommunicate Today

A.M.O.P.S. – Defending the Honor of Black Women

I believe in the whole excommunicating people even bw if we have to, but not just bw, but bm, am,wm,ww, corporations etc. I’ve always believed that the only way to keep black women away from sterotypical roles is to shame. I know people will think that’s harsh, but think about how many children are taught. They know it would shame, dissapoint, and hurt their parents, family, friends etc. who worked hard to get them an education and opportunities. They know that these people expect the best of them so that’s what they give them. I believe we should excommunicate Hollywood any movie, music, other media, businesses etc. that sterotypes us. That also means excommunicating friends, family etc. which will be hard, but if you have to do it. Excommunicate your time, your support, your dollars. Do it now! You should be getting toxic people out of your lives anyway. That’s another post.

4 Responses to “Excommunicate Today”

  1. K. Michel Says:

    Yes! Now, I know this was meant for Black women (and I respect that) but this is really a poignant post that can also be applied to Black people as a whole.

    African-Americans make up THE major consumer group in the United States as of 2007. Now, can you IMAGINE the impact we can have by simply… not endorsing a certain medium or product with our cash?

    We’d be an absolute force!

    But, in order for this to work… we have to be unified, right? This means whenever Black men and Black women are being defamed, WE stop our support. It’s a very disciplined way of living but if we could nail it…

    – K. Michel of K. Michel Press

  2. bgurrl Says:

    But, in order for this to work… we have to be unified, right? This means whenever Black men and Black women are being defamed, WE stop our support. It’s a very disciplined way of living but if we could nail it

    The problem with that theory is that bm have to be on board as well and from the looks of black unity movements (mostly bw) I’m not holding out hope on that. Frankly this movement will have to be done by black girls and women for black girls and women. Black women can no longer afford (never could have) to waste our years trying to teach boys to be men when that is a mans job.

    I have left that black unity bull (because I feel that’s what it is) black unity bull that the black community wants to throw out there when they need the mules to slave and stay and wait for something and someone that’s not going to come.

    • K. Michel Says:

      “The problem with that theory is that bm have to be on board as well and from the looks of black unity movements (mostly bw) I’m not holding out hope on that. Frankly this movement will have to be done by black girls and women for black girls and women.”

      I see. You know… sometimes I get so worked up that I think EVERYONE has had relative experiences with the Black community; that EVERYONE sees what I do. But, you know what? You don’t have to hold back with me.

      With that being said, you’re a Black woman. And as a Black man, I desire to hear what you have to say. I do. So if you feel that black unity is bull, then that means I have to find out WHY you feel this way.

      It’s funny. Looking back at it, I noticed that my comment was actually pretty insensitive… I mean, the site IS called “BLACK WOMEN’S Time to Shine”.

      I’m so sorry, bgurrl.

      • scificrazy Says:

        You have to bear in mind it’s not black people who ought to work collectively, supporting etc. It’s that black men need collectively join and support alongside black women, as black women already support most of the bc. As BG stated it don’t look like it’s happening anytime soon. At least you take note of the perspective of black women. Many black men go on tirades of if black women weren’t like this and more like this etc. then we would actually want yau’ll again etc. I am so tired of that ish. We are damned if we do and damned if we don’t.

        I think black unity is bull as well. It was the Black Nationalist movement I believe that said black women’s voice etc. is null in the movement (meaning we ought to remain quiet, but carry on the burdens.) I can’t recall who said it and I don’t care to recall, nevertheless I stopped believing in black unity since. There were also black men who were civil rights activists declare that black women didn’t and don’t contribute to the civil rights movement even though we contributed much to the movement. I recognize when I’m not wanted and when to move on.


Leave a Reply

