You’re Not My Preference, But Wink

 This goes for eHarmony and chemistry (Ironic that it’s their ad about Eharmony’s rejections.  This also goes for other dating sites.

http://kathmanduk2.wordpress.com/2010/03/20/interracial-dating-online-the-importance-of-skin-color-in-choosing-who-we-date/ 

This is a great post. And on that note I have something to say in regards to black not being checked on dating sites. I know some have stated that give a man a chance. Many white, Asian etc. don’t know black women may be interested in them, but I say please to that. I’m sorry, but if he didn’t check all or checked everything but black don’t be trying to wink or make any contact with me. The man has already stated that I am not a preference. He wants to talk to me there is something called editing your profile. Even then I don’t know if I will talk to them.

There is something about black women being encouraged to respond to men that do this on Eharmony and other dating sites that just rub me the wrong way. It for one makes us look like we will put up with anything. Think about it. These men would never have to say they have a preference for us, because they know we’d respond to give them the so-called benefit of the doubt. So you never know if they really have a preference for black women.  Please not me honey!  Better take that wink for someone checked on the box!   If I see in the profile the blurb on what a guy likes and he goes on about dating ww, latina, asian etc., but hasn’t stated in his little blurb that he also would like to date black women or he doesn’t say has no particular preference I am not commenting. He better find someone else cause it ain’t bgurrl.

Actually that’s what gets me about Eharmony and similar sites.  If it’s all about matching people on compatibility, likes, values etc. then why is race even considered?  I mean what does race have to do with values.  Now yes there can be differences from cultures and also the way a certain race is treated in society, but still many are compatible when it comes values etc.   

It’s just something degenerating of a man who has preferences checked, that are anything, but black, but want to wink at black women. I say leave those men a lone. If they are genuine then as I said there is something called editing their profile.

2 Responses to “You’re Not My Preference, But Wink”

  1. Sky Says:

    I’ve heard of this happening on dating websites. I was once one Plentyoffish…i can’t remember seeing a box on anyone’s profile that mention their race preference, which was good. It got a lot of men of all races talkin to me. I was planning on going match.com or maybe another free website, but we’ll see.

    I don’t think i would bother talk to a guy who’s preference list checks everything but black. I would skip on down. And personally I hate winks. Winks are excuses not to actually sit down and write something clever/quirky to me. For all I know you sent winks to a list of women, to see which would respond to you and then take your pick. Uh…no! Write me or keep moving.

  2. Reyna Says:

    I agree. Men who have preference for any woman under the sun except Black and Native American needs to be called out. Men who say that they’re willing to date/wife White/Asian/Pacific Islander/Latino/Arab/East Indian, etc. but won’t date/wife Black American and Native American Woman is execising their unconscious racialized sexist beliefs.

    Reyna(Stephanie B.)


Leave a Reply

