Teacher Brings Back Chivalry in the Classroom

http://abcnews.go.com/WN/arizona-high-school-students-etiquette-chivalry-lessons-latin-class/story?id=9932707&page=1

This is an interesting article. What I have a problem with is when you have women who complain that girls are not opening doors or seating boys as they do us. The male teacher even stated that boys don’t generally like when girls do this. I try not to open doors for men that much as I have been given back handed comments. At first  I thought I was being complemented then I realized I was being insulted. I agree girls should show respect as they are being respected.  Even Emily Posts descendant is saying that because women being in the workplace that what Emily Post wrote is outdated/old fashioned of course there are somethings in Emily’s Post’s 1922 that might not fit with today as that our culture has changed, but I don’t believe that chivalry will really tie.  What I’ve been noticing is that many women have this idea that women should do things that men do as in masculine things.  I don’t think we should.  We are women and feminine.  We should bring our feminine ideas of respect etc. than just copy what the men do.  Men and women think very different, react differently etc.  IDK the man saying that boys/men generally don’t like girls doing things like opening doors, pulling seats out etc. should tell women something.  Isn’t it ironic that a woman who grew up during women’s lib stated that at first she was skeptical, but if her daughters getting respect she’s all for it.  I think many of these organizations have a huge disconnect with everyday people. 

What does everyone else think?

One Response to “Teacher Brings Back Chivalry in the Classroom”

  1. jubilee Says:

    Yeah, guys really dont li ke it when girls open the door for them, it’s natura–I hope real men start to bring chivalry back and soon—I couldn’t believe that those soldiers wouldnt help that old lady in the picture!===men and women are born different. period. and most women really don’t respect guys that they feel are soft no matter what they say or imply- that why ‘nice guys’ are having a problem getting dates–they dont know how to be more manly


Leave a Reply

